To Narnia! [Lesson 6]

Fantasies. Who does not have them? I know I do. All of my youth I have just drowned myself in the Harry Potter books and was always looking for another fix into a different world than the boring one I was living.196301_507740569248360_9540704_n_large

The lion, the witch and the wardrobe indeed had a Pottery feeling about it. I had heard about it before, but have never really set myself to reading it. I really loved the dreamy writing style and the biblical references that were not too out there but could be found when you looked for them. The whole good versus evil and everything in between is what made the book exciting and fun to read, and who would not want to crawl through their wardrobe and find a whole new world lying behind it?

The class discussions made me see the pattern in pretty much every fantasy book. First there is the call. The 2 sons of Adam and 2 daughters of Eve have finally arrived the drag the ice queen (literally) from her throne and make the sun shine in Narnia again. Of course, there  are some obstacles, here being the absence of the genius lion who will eat his way to power if he has to. Then there is the wandering off of one of the sons of Adam, he’d rather eat some Turkish delight in prison rather than throwing around swords and killing demons with bows and arrows. This pattern is apparently applicable to almost every fantasy book. I never really thought of it this way, but during class there was a click in my head that said what a minute, almost every fantasy book I have ever read works this way. I hope this does not spoil my fun of reading in the future, which Literature 1A has done for me with symbolism.

The pattern applies (obviously)  to the other book as well. There is Percy, a secret son of the gods who gets a mission which he has to fulfill with the needed obstacles on the road to eternal glory. Both books (once again) cope with the absence of parents, or they are there but not really aware of the fact that they are parents. In the case of Narnia the parents of the children ship them off to another country so they will not get blown to pieces in the war.

The books provide us with a lot of ‘between the lines’ reading as well. The younger readers might not pick up these hints, but we ourselves most certainly do. Narnia is pretty much a retelling of the bible with a slightly different setting. Percy Jackson: the lightning thief is a story in which a lot of ancient Greek figures and myths can be found amongst us in the real world.

 

Both books are suitable around the age of 11, 12 if you ask me. It speaks to the fantasy, is fun and keeps you turning the page without being able to put either of the books down. Luckily there are lots of sequels, so those of us who are true fantasy lovers at heart can keep getting their fix by reading these amazing stories.

Leave a Reply

